getting stated

Questions about the installation of FreeBSD

getting stated

Postby m1pete » Sat Mar 16, 2013 12:19 pm

Hi, I have just installed GhostBSD 3.0 64bit AMD on my PC. At login I type my user name, and then type my password at the PW promt. the problem starts after that, I get 2 or 3 lines of text then the PC needs me to type something, the problem is I don't know what to type to start the PC into a desktop screen. Can anyone help please.

Thanks...Peter...
m1pete
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 12:15 pm

getting stated

 

Re: getting stated

Postby ericbsd » Sat Mar 16, 2013 2:29 pm

If its Openbox version insert
Code: Select all
startx
ericbsd
Site Admin
 
Posts: 343
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: getting stated

Postby m1pete » Sat Mar 16, 2013 4:20 pm

Hi, I am uesing the LXDE. I have tried typing startx but got noware.
m1pete
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 12:15 pm

Re: getting stated

Postby ericbsd » Sat Mar 16, 2013 4:37 pm

Try
Code: Select all
gdm

If it you have and error it might be a graphic card problem with Xorg.
What card you have and can you look at xorg.conf.
Code: Select all
ee /etc/X11/xorg.conf

That might be the problem.
ericbsd
Site Admin
 
Posts: 343
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: getting stated

Postby m1pete » Sat Mar 16, 2013 4:47 pm

I might be doing something wrong. I downloaded ghostbsd lxde 3.0 for amd. I put it on a DVD and run it live, now that part worked fine and I got the screen up and was able to go online and try out Ghost. Then I clicked on the install icon and did a full hard drive install. this is were the problem starts, the PC stops at login: I type the login name, then it asks for the password: i typped the pw in. now what comes up is: [peter@peter "] $ I dont know what to type in to get started.

Can any one help....please.

Peter.
m1pete
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 12:15 pm

Re: getting stated

Postby ericbsd » Sat Mar 16, 2013 4:58 pm

Normally you are suppose to boot on a graphical interface call gdm not a shell.

What graphic card you have? Can you look at xorg.conf?
Code: Select all
ee /etc/X11/xorg.conf

That might be the problem.
ericbsd
Site Admin
 
Posts: 343
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: getting stated

Postby m1pete » Sat Mar 16, 2013 5:03 pm

My graphics card is a Geforce gt 430 1024mb ddr3. would it be best to do a reinstall this time with the graphics on .
m1pete
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 12:15 pm

Re: getting stated

Postby ericbsd » Sat Mar 16, 2013 6:47 pm

You might have the same problem. You should try to fix it and it will also help me to fix that bug.
Try the command:
Code: Select all
cat /boot/loader.conf

You should see nvidia_load="YES", if not you need to add nvidia_load="YES".
Code: Select all
echo 'nvidia_load="YES"' >> /boot/loader.conf


It can be Load "dri" xorg.cong if you see Load "dri" remove the line.
ericbsd
Site Admin
 
Posts: 343
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: getting stated

Postby John Ulbrich » Wed Apr 03, 2013 4:03 pm

What is the "code" for gnome2 to finish the installation
John Ulbrich
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 3:59 pm

Re: getting stated

Postby ericbsd » Wed Apr 03, 2013 7:53 pm

What you mean about the code?
ericbsd
Site Admin
 
Posts: 343
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:54 pm


Return to Installing GhostBSD

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron