How to fix the Xorg resolution?

Need support for GhostBSD. Ask here if your question does not fit elsewhere.

How to fix the Xorg resolution?

Postby macondo » Fri Jul 21, 2017 12:32 pm

I did a fresh install of Ghostbsd 10.3, on new hard drive, the installation went fine, resolution perfect, no problems with XFCE4.

Did a freebsd-update fetch install
Did a pkg update/upgrade (480 packages)
Rebooted and the resolution went to ###.
Tried icewm and jwm, no change.
My resolution is 1600x900 acording to Puppy Linux.
Read docs at Freebsd.org but no luck. I'm too dense.
Uninstalled Firefox 54 after upgrade, back to Firefox 52
Uninstalled XFCE4
No joy!

Can someone help me fix the resolution?

Thank you...
Desktop Celeron with 4 gigs RAM - icewm/jwm/ratpoison - FreeBSD 11.1/GhostBSD 11.1
KISS - Keep It Simple, Stupid
User avatar
macondo
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 1:04 pm
Location: PANAMA
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 4 times

How to fix the Xorg resolution?


Re: How to fix the Xorg resolution?

Postby ASX » Fri Jul 21, 2017 12:49 pm

hi macondo!

Please post here the content of /var/log/Xorg.0.log, hopefully the file will contain some useful information.
(please use a service like pastebin.com and post a link here)
ASX
Developer
 
Posts: 970
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:46 am
Has thanked: 58 times
Been thanked: 130 times

Re: How to fix the Xorg resolution?

Postby macondo » Fri Jul 21, 2017 2:34 pm

/pastebin.com/n84z2Tnn
Desktop Celeron with 4 gigs RAM - icewm/jwm/ratpoison - FreeBSD 11.1/GhostBSD 11.1
KISS - Keep It Simple, Stupid
User avatar
macondo
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 1:04 pm
Location: PANAMA
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: How to fix the Xorg resolution?

Postby macondo » Fri Jul 21, 2017 2:38 pm

The resolution is supossed to be 1600x1024
Desktop Celeron with 4 gigs RAM - icewm/jwm/ratpoison - FreeBSD 11.1/GhostBSD 11.1
KISS - Keep It Simple, Stupid
User avatar
macondo
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 1:04 pm
Location: PANAMA
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: How to fix the Xorg resolution?

Postby ASX » Fri Jul 21, 2017 3:03 pm

macondo wrote:/pastebin.com/n84z2Tnn


OK, things start to clear up, your system is using intel graphics.

[ 111.712] (II) LoadModule: "intel"
[ 111.712] (WW) Warning, couldn't open module intel
[ 111.712] (II) UnloadModule: "intel"
[ 111.712] (II) Unloading intel
[ 111.712] (EE) Failed to load module "intel" (module does not exist, 0)


First, please install xf86-video-intel (this was not required at the time we released 10.3, but it seems required after an Xorg update introduced a few problems after changing some hw detection code.

Second:
[ 111.740] (EE) open /dev/dri/card0: No such file or directory
[ 111.740] (WW) Falling back to old probe method for modesetting
[ 111.740] (EE) open /dev/dri/card0: No such file or directory
[ 111.740] (WW) Falling back to old probe method for scfb


The above error usually come from drm module not loiaded or wrong permission:
add the folowing line in /etc/rc.conf (and reboot)
Code: Select all
i915kms_load="YES"

also be sure to not load i915/i915kms from loader.conf

after that, reboot, and verify that the modules are effectively loaded:
Code: Select all
kldstat


should list, among others:
i915kms.ko
drm.ko


note that a user must be a member of the root group or video group to use X properly
Code: Select all
pw groupmod -m root <user>
pw groupmod -m video <user>


best of luck :)
ASX
Developer
 
Posts: 970
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:46 am
Has thanked: 58 times
Been thanked: 130 times

Re: How to fix the Xorg resolution?

Postby macondo » Fri Jul 21, 2017 6:30 pm

Sorry, it's takien so long. I did the first thing you said in /etc/rc.conf and got this error:
Code: Select all
WARNING: /: TRIM flag in fs but disk does not support TRIM
/etc/rc.conf :35: sintax error: undetermined quoted string
Enter full path name of shell or RETURN/ for /bin/sh


I was stuck and not knowing what to do, I got outta Dodge.
I installed FreeBSD 10.3 and could not get into the Xs.
Some error about framebuffer, I am writing from Puppy Linux.
I got Devuan in my other box.
Thanks for your efforts, I appreciate it, pal!
Desktop Celeron with 4 gigs RAM - icewm/jwm/ratpoison - FreeBSD 11.1/GhostBSD 11.1
KISS - Keep It Simple, Stupid
User avatar
macondo
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 1:04 pm
Location: PANAMA
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: How to fix the Xorg resolution?

Postby macondo » Sat Jul 22, 2017 1:39 am

I am obsesive, in my Devuan box , I burned a copy of FreeBSD 11.1 RC3 but got no dvd, so I got the "boot only" copy.
Pretty nice, I might add.
Entered the Xs this time, but still had the same problem: wrong resolution.

To make a long story short, I fixed the resolution with xrandar.
Code: Select all
 
$ xrandr -s 1600x900

https://linuxacademy.com/blog/linux/sol ... th-xrandr/

That's for the size of the window, now for the dpi of the fonts,
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/HiDPI
(it went in my .xinitrc) Read under Firefox and about:config .

And last, but not least, my kbd language was wrong too. Here's my .xinitrc:

Code: Select all
#!/bin/sh

xrandr --dpi 85
xrandr -s 1600x900 &
setxkbmap -model pc105 -layout es, ISO-8859-15-acc
setxkbmap -option terminate:ctrl_alt_bksp
xsetroot -solid black
unclutter -idle 2 &
numlockx &

exec icewm


Hehe, it's been entertaining... It's one in the AM, now I can go to sleep :D
Last edited by macondo on Sat Jul 22, 2017 8:32 am, edited 2 times in total.
Desktop Celeron with 4 gigs RAM - icewm/jwm/ratpoison - FreeBSD 11.1/GhostBSD 11.1
KISS - Keep It Simple, Stupid
User avatar
macondo
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 1:04 pm
Location: PANAMA
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: How to fix the Xorg resolution?

Postby ASX » Sat Jul 22, 2017 4:17 am

macondo wrote:Sorry, it's takien so long. I did the first thing you said in /etc/rc.conf and got this error:
Code: Select all
WARNING: /: TRIM flag in fs but disk does not support TRIM
/etc/rc.conf :35: sintax error: undetermined quoted string
Enter full path name of shell or RETURN/ for /bin/sh


I was stuck and not knowing what to do,

Oohh ... indeed I forgot one of the double quotes enclosing YES:
i915kms_load="YES"
ASX
Developer
 
Posts: 970
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:46 am
Has thanked: 58 times
Been thanked: 130 times

Re: How to fix the Xorg resolution?

Postby ASX » Sat Jul 22, 2017 4:22 am

macondo wrote:ITo make a long story short, I fixed the resolution with xrandar.
[code[
$ xrandr -s 1600x900
[/code]


Based on your Xorg.0.log, the main problem was that a proper driver was not loaded, a second probòem was acceleration was not enabled ... I'm not sure about your results ... resolution might be ok, but performance probably are low
ASX
Developer
 
Posts: 970
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:46 am
Has thanked: 58 times
Been thanked: 130 times

Re: How to fix the Xorg resolution?

Postby macondo » Sat Jul 22, 2017 8:40 am

ASX wrote:
Based on your Xorg.0.log, the main problem was that a proper driver was not loaded, a second probòem was acceleration was not enabled ... I'm not sure about your results ... resolution might be ok, but performance probably are low


I am not satisfied with the results, completely that is.
I will follow your advice and try to fix it your way.

Hopefully 11.1 RELEASE will have none of this problems...
Desktop Celeron with 4 gigs RAM - icewm/jwm/ratpoison - FreeBSD 11.1/GhostBSD 11.1
KISS - Keep It Simple, Stupid
User avatar
macondo
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 1:04 pm
Location: PANAMA
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Next

Return to General support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron